Forums

The forums ran from 2008-2020 and are now closed and viewable here as an archive.

Home Forums Other Student – My first External site

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author
    ScottMacD

Hello Everyone, Im currently a student and decided to finaly put a site on a server to present my work , let me know what you think

The Blue Cone
    http://www.bluecone.co.uk

Let me know what you think, give me suggestions for improvements please :D

cssgirl
    Participant

First off, congrats on getting your stuff up live :)

I like your header design and navigation alot!

I’m on a 1440×900 res, and your left hand content and right hand content have a GREAT deal of space in between them, that makes it looks really unbalanced. Plus when you resize (I changed my browser window to 1024×768 first) and your 4 ad images mush into your left content. When you resize it to 800×600 it’s even worse. Also when you resize the window in IE7 anything under 1100/1200 is broken and you can’t even see the left content. I don’t have IE6 to test on with the computer so I can’t help you with that.

Also, I’m not really too keen about the blue font colors on top of the gray background. I’d actually totally lose the gray background for your main content (keep it on your page headers), take the blue darker (perhaps to match the dark blue in your header graphic) for the main font.

Also, like on your "about" page I’d add some type of bullets to your lists.

Actually looking at your code I see that ever p has a class assigned to it, and every class seems to be named "style19", "style23" etc. That looks like some dreamweaver code ;) Because of that you seem to have a lot of extra mark up. You can just define one class to cover all those html elements.

You’re coming along great though, getting your cross browser compatibility down, resolution down and stuff and it’ll be look really good.

ScottMacD