Forums

The forums ran from 2008-2020 and are now closed and viewable here as an archive.

Home Forums CSS Some direction for my web layout please

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Author
    xikky

Hi there! I’m knew to this site, I like coding especially web designing but I’m still a student and don’t know much. But thanks to the internet I get along in a way…

I wish to build up a website of my own, so I’ve created a layout (1024X768) with photoshop and it is looking pretty nice. But now my problem is that I want to build the layout possibly to be compatible for all browsers and looks good in any resolution.

OK, now this might be impossible but I guess there is some way close. Please can someone guide me which method shall I choose to start coding the CSS for my layout with the sliced images, to make the site able to look fine in various browsers and resolutions.

One thing that I did is: using divs for each slice/image and place the div with a fixed position and for resolution compatibility I set the width and height using percentages. This worked but something is not right …

Any help will be appreciated, and please if you refer me to a guide please state why you think this guide’s method is OK. I might have already looked at the guide but due to my “which one is best and fits for my layout” I still haven’t choose the right one.

below is a link for the image of my layout.
    http://img203.imageshack.us/img203/4708/layoutnf.jpg

A quick description of the layout:
    First columns
    – left-top corner logo
    – below navigation area
    Second column:
    – top black area – header (will be used for quick details and shortcuts)
    – below is the main area. In the white box will be placed the content

– bottom of the page is the footer surrounded with the yellow pipe.

– the gray boxes are for future advertisements (if there ever will be XD)

supperman
    Participant