Forums

The forums ran from 2008-2020 and are now closed and viewable here as an archive.

Home Forums Other Some advice please

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    emma
    Participant

I currently work as a front end developer for a major record label and have done for the past 2.5 years. I work in the e-commerce department which used to be a lot of fun, not only writing code but also coming up with bug specs on how we could improve the cms system to use html5 and responsive images etc. up until recently when I had my appraisal and the only “negative” thing they said was that I am too much of a perfectionist and that they would like me to spend less time on the details, just to make it “good enough”. This really killed all my enthusiasm and I am really not enjoying spitting out website after website based on a template I had to develop.. So of late I have been thinking of going freelance so I can develop high quality websites to a standard that I can actually be proud of. I also see all these exciting services out there like icomoon and typekit etc that I would love to try out but my boss doesn’t want to pay for this so having my own projects would be brilliant.

The only problem is that I am not very good at designing. I know that most designers out there these days are good with the front end stuff (at least from what I read on here) so finding a ‘designer only’ that I can hook up with seems hopeless.

Has anyone got any good tips on what I can do to keep pushing myself to learn new things as I am loosing the will to live some days when I’m at work?!?

I would love to find someone to do some freelance work with but I don’t have any sites that I am proud to put into a portfolio. It is all big celebrity names that sounds impressive but when you look under the hood the code is half arsed and sloppy due to time restraints.