Forums

The forums ran from 2008-2020 and are now closed and viewable here as an archive.

Home Forums Back End [Solved] wp_cycle slideshow plugin

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    barbcpeter
    Participant

Hi everyone,

I recently activated the wp_cycle jQuery plugin by Nathan Rice in order to do a very simple automated slideshow in WordPress.

Got the slideshow up and running just fine, but I can’t seem to style it–I want it centered in my main content area but it won’t budge from a left alignment. Looking at it from Firebug, it seems the position of the slideshow container is set to relative and the slides are positioned absolutely.

The documentation for the plug-in says it can be styled using the div you assign to it. So I tried

Code:
    [wp_cycle]

and styled it with

Code:
    margin: 15px auto 15px auto;

It didn’t budge.

I am not a programmer so I very hesitant to get in and fiddle with the code or the plug-in. Does the absolute positioning throw everything off?
    Help! Many thanks in advance!
    ~Barb

barbcpeter
    Participant

Thanks for your advice, apostrophe.

I have tried that route also and still no results. I’ll give it another try just to make sure I didn’t do it wrong the first time. My question about absolute positioning still stands, however. Doesn’t ab. pos. take each slide out of the normal html flow and make it stay where it’s put, or does the positioning of the container (relative) of the slides(absolutely positioned) allow the slideshow to be centered?

~Barb

barbcpeter
    Participant

Thanks again, apostrophe.