The Lodge is members-only design/dev videos and Office Hours.

Next Office Hours Session: "Implementing an SVG Icon System" Nov 30 - 6:00 PM Eastern

[Solved] Extra HTML in my page

• # November 2, 2009 at 10:25 pm

WordPress is adding extra <p> tags in my code. I’m using the HTML tab to paste the code.

Here’s what’s happening:

See the extra <p>’s?

It’s not a plugin, I don’t have any plugin installed at all.

I have already taken out all the spaces between the HTML tags (something I shouldn’t have to do at all) and out of 6/7 HTML errors I had only 1 error remains (I can fix one of the <p>’s you see above, but I left both to show the kind error I’m getting).

I’ve searched the forums before posting but I didn’t find anything related to my problem.

This is very disappointing, although I’m not new to HTML this is my first time using WordPress to build a website because I heard very good comments about it, but now I’m trying such a simple thing which is copy HTML code from Dreamweaver to the HTML tab in WordPress and WordPress welcomes me with this absurd problem.

If there’s no way to solve this, I will have to dump WordPress for another CMS. I honestly do NOT want to do it, but seems I’m being forced to do so.

Thanks for any help you can provide on this issue.

# November 3, 2009 at 3:18 am

It looks like it’s probably a problem in the template itself. You don’t mention anything about the templates, so I assume you haven’t checked them?

Is the slider what you’re adding to a page? If it is, the slider should probably just be created on a separate template.

# November 3, 2009 at 11:10 am

You might also try:

Although then when you DO want paragraph tags, you’ll need to add them.

# November 3, 2009 at 7:06 pm

Chris, I was actually going to contact you directly ( :D ) about this problem, but I solved it already.

And yes, installing the Disable WPAUTOP plugin worked perfectly, the people at suggested it to me.