Forums

The forums ran from 2008-2020 and are now closed and viewable here as an archive.

Home Forums Back End [Solved] 2 loops, 2 categories – can I do this?

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Author
    bazzablue
    Participant

Here’s what I would like to do:

On the left hand side of my home page to have a list of my 5 latest posts that would have the category of Blog and in the centre to have a list of my 3 latest posts with the category of Portfolio. Both sections would be styled differently and would take visitors to two separate sections of the site – Blog and Porfolio – which would look very different from one another.

I have had a look around the web for this but most of the searches that show for multi loops seem to deal with having a featured post displaying different from the posts below.

Is what I am wanting to do possible? I am fairly new to WordPress and my knowledge of PHP is very, very limited.

Thanks for any help.

Barry

TheDoc

You simply are going to have two loops on the page, as far as I know there is no problem with that.

If you’re comfortable doing one loop and one category, doing a second should be as easy as copy-paste.

bazzablue
    Participant

Maybe my understanding of the loop is not very clear. I tried doing that but my page didn’t show anything apart from some error message. Probably didn’t specify category properly.

An extra issue is that I am not wanting to use index.php as my home page, so I need to have a Blog index page and another index page for Portfolio.

With my limited knowledge I may be biting off more than I can chew.

TheDoc
    bazzablue
    Participant

I did come across the Perishable Press one but was a bit daunted by it and wasn’t sure it was what I needed.

Will give it a go on a test site and see where I get with it.

Thanks for your help.

Chris Coyier
    Keymaster