Forums

The forums ran from 2008-2020 and are now closed and viewable here as an archive.

Home Forums JavaScript Slick carousels problems!

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author
    jameskape
    Participant

Hey guys,

I’m having some Slick-carousels problems with a couple of different styled carousels I’ve coded… (Note: I’m not a proper coder, so sorry if this is obvious stuff)

See the code here: http://jameskape.com/help/

1. I created a function so that when you click the slide, it moves to the next but for some reason this function affects both carousels (one below too) and I can’t figure out how to fix it so that it only affects the slider clicked.
    2. The click function i created above doesn’t work at all here? How do i fix this? I also can’t seem to figure out how to centre each slide?

3. Again can’t get the click function to work here or how to centre the slide. I also want to maintain a 60px padding either side of the centred slide.

Would be really grateful to anyone who might know how to fix these bugs!

Cheers,
    James

Shikkediel
    Participant

On the first question – the last instance of defining $slideshow is $('.slider') which means all of the elements with that class and overwrites what was assigned earlier. Give this a try:

$('.image').click(function() {
        $(this).parent().slick('slickGoTo', parseInt($slideshow.slick('slickCurrentSlide'))+1);
    });

Might fix other things as well. In any case, you could probably remove all the $slidehow = declarations and only leave the method initiation there.

Shikkediel
    Participant

You’ll see that if you click on the second example, that the upper two slideshows will change their image. So it has the event listener but the element itself isn’t included in $('.slider').