Forums

The forums ran from 2008-2020 and are now closed and viewable here as an archive.

Home Forums Other Site Review

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Author
    Day_Robbie

I’m kind of new to making websites, particularly developing in WordPress and would love some feedback on my personal site I just put up: http://robbieday.net/

I’m self-taught, so all feedback is really valuable. I know this forum isn’t exactly meant for site reviews, but I thought I’d throw this up just in case some kind-hearted folks stopped by.

I’d really like to hear your thoughts on my responsive approach. I know I’m hiding a lot of markup depending on the breakpoint. Is this a big problem?

I would also love any feedback on the design. I’m not crazy about it, but the more I look at anything I design, the less enthused I seem to get haha.

Thanks a ton!

Robbie

snillor

Very nice job on the responsiveness. Things scale and rearrange smoothly.

Random Observations:

I’m not crazy about the brown background color. Consider using a neutral or almost-neutral color instead. That’ll coexist better, and make the purer colors in other element headings pop more.

Definitely lose the full-justification. At some viewport widths it causes ugly spacing between words.

Your name and the social media icons merge into the thick yellow line. I don’t care for that look, and in the case of the icons, it isn’t very obvious that you’d like folks to click on them.

The photos (of you, I assume at top left) and in the instagram section all look blurry to me.

In general, I think it needs some finishing touches. Lots of flat colors that might benefit from some texture or gradients (subtly, of course). Maybe some subtle text-shadows and box shadows. Perhaps some subtle rounded corners here and there. And the contact form could use some polishing to make it visually more appealing.