Forums

The forums ran from 2008-2020 and are now closed and viewable here as an archive.

Home Forums CSS simple problem…

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Author
    maximus1979

Hello folks!

This is my first post, so I’d like to thank everyone and especially Chris for putting all of this together. Great resource for me so far, thanks a bunch.

Now, on to my little problem…

In Chris’ video “Converting a Photoshop Mockup (part 1 of 3)” he uses a simple technique to get the header / banner area going. In his video, he crops a small pic of the stripe and repeats it on X across the top, creating an elastic stripe and then adds the actual “banner”.

I’ve followed the steps 1 by 1 to the letter and everything is fine EXCEPT, when I add my banner, it is actually about 20px LOWER than the original stripe…

I tried adding a ‘padding’ of 20px across the top but it actually lowers the “banner” further, instead of the stripe…

I’m still fairly new to all of this so I’m quite confused as to why this is happening… I’m using the EXACT same code, same pics, dimensions… I’ve also tried loading it up on different browsers and that does nothing.

HTML

"http://www.w3.org/TR/xhtml1-transitional.dtd">

Testing 1 2 3

CSS

• {
    margin: 0;
    padding: 0;
    }

body {
    font-size: 65%;
    font-family: Verdana, sans-serif;
    background: url(images/body-bg.jpg) repeat-x top;

}

div#page-wrap {
    width: 580px;
    margin: 0 auto;
    }

ul#nav {
    height: 236px; width: 800px;
    margin: 0 auto;
    background: url(images/header-bg.jpg) no-repeat;
    list-style: none;
    }

ul#nav li a {
    display: block;
    width: 130px;
    float: left;
    margin-top: 185px;
    color: black;
    font-weight: bold;
    text-decoration: none;
    }

ul#nav li a:hover, ul#nav li a:active {
    color: red;

Any ideas??

Thanks a lot in advance for any help you guys will provide!

Max

TheDoc