Forums

The forums ran from 2008-2020 and are now closed and viewable here as an archive.

Home Forums CSS Should I Try CSS Sprites for this Drop Down?

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 20 total)
  • Author
    grovesk

Hi – I’ve got this drop down to build and looking for suggestions on how to handle the background images in this menu bar.

Here’s an Image

The menu bar uls to be text as it’s going into a CMS. So, sliding doors, sprites? I’m pretty new to both of these approaches so need some advice.

Thanks, Karen

grovesk

hi – bumping this. Really hoping for some guidance here. Thanks in advance

chrisburton
    Participant

Why would you need a sprite?

grovesk

Hi Christopher — I don’t know anything about sprites so judging from your question here, I’m guessing that’s not the solution. :) But how do I create those red arrows which need to be flexible widths? Should they be individual gifs? Do I use sliding doors? I don’t know how to build this menu.

chrisburton
    Participant

Ok I used @chriscoyier’s triangle snippet and used pseudo elements to achieve something close to your idea. Although I didn’t take the time to use unordered lists for the markup. Do you get the idea of it?

edit: markup doesn’t work if you put text inside the div. Still working on it.

grovesk

Do you have a link?

chrisburton
    Participant

So far I’ve just made the dropdown. Going to lunch right after I type this. Will tackle more after I get back.

Johnnyb

Hey Karen,

Are you limited to just using CSS? It may well be possible to do it using just CSS as Christopher is likely going to prove, but as I’m not sure how I thought I’d suggest using jQuery. You can use jQuery to measure the width of the li tag and then use that width to accordingly alter the css values used to make a triangle: https://css-tricks.com/snippets/css/css-triangle/.

Just an idea I thought I’d throw out there!

John

chrisburton
    Participant