Forums

The forums ran from 2008-2020 and are now closed and viewable here as an archive.

Home Forums CSS Saving Images for background use – need advice

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Author
    pghtech

I am a beginner not only at web design but photoshop as well. Though I have made allot of progress I am still having a heck of a time figuring out the whole "save" image out of Photoshop for use in my website.

To get to the thick of it, the problem I seem to keep facing is two fold and might not be a photohop-saving issue and more of a lack of CSS knowledge. My problem is either keeping the body background lined up with div backgrounds OR saving backgrounds as GIF’s, giving them transparency, and loosing significant image quality.

THe situation: For my body I have a background with a few veritical lines. My container has a header and footer that has the background running through elements in it. So I can either save the header and footer backgrounds as Jpeg’s with high quality and line up the body background stripes with the header/footer background stripes.

OR

I can save the header/footer backgrounds as GIF’s w/ transparency and let the body background show through.

I run into problems with either scenario.

If I save the header/footer background with the body background in it as JPEG – then if I understand CSS, I will have a problem KEEPING the vertical stripes lined up in the header/footer DIVS and the body background when someone views with a different screen size than what I am using. The only way I know to keep them lined up is for example making a div that is position: absolute to the container. But again, since I want these vertical lines to run from the top of the page down infinitely, the vertical height would have to be enormous (e.g. 4000px +) high to try and account for most monitor resolutions, which doesn’t sound right. There has to be a better way.