Forums

The forums ran from 2008-2020 and are now closed and viewable here as an archive.

Home Forums CSS Responsive layout with absolute positioning – is it possible ?

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author

Hi,

I am actually a c++ programmer and new to web (html, css, js etc). Working since last 6 months.

Let me explain my issue. I work on a product which has a MS word like editor and we can create a full document (which can include images, tables, styles, fonts, graphics, charts, and much more than this) in it. I developed a html driver as part of export feature which is based on absolute positions. So the user creates a document and says “export” and the code generates an html which is working perfectly.

Now as a next step I have to give support for multiple devices (screens). I have read a lot over the web and the majority of things I came across is responsive/fluid layouts (for eg. twitter bootstrap). These layouts looks to working with no positions (or with normal flow of the document) and if I give any positions, they don’t work.

Any ideas how can I go about this thing? for eg. is this possible only with CSS or I have to do something when the user opens the html and change the layout at runtime using JS. Any possible pointers would help me.

Thanks,
    ns.

jamygolden

This may help: (link removed by admin, 404ing)

Centered responsively with position: static (default, but relative would work here too) and position: absolute;

Thanks for the reply Jamy.
    This seems to be working horizontally but lets say I do this:

this is a test para.this is a test para.this is a test para.this is a test para.this is a test para.this is a test para.this is a test para.this is a test para.

Now the text is going to flow into second div as the top coordinate is always constant.

In case of this:

#static { background: lightblue; margin: 0 auto;position:absolute; left:500px;top:50px; }