Forums

The forums ran from 2008-2020 and are now closed and viewable here as an archive.

Home Forums CSS

resizes on window resize,

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 13 posts - 1 through 13 (of 13 total)
  • Author
    Christer

Hi guys,
    i got this problem with my site that if i resize the browser window, it resizes the #container div aswell.
    i tried searching for any solution, and seems like most of that particular problem is for IE browser,
    i am currently using FireFox.
    And when trying it in safari, it seems like its height is set to 100% (its not) ..

Its working when i set a fixed height on the div – but im trying to make it fit for the content instead as i want it to dynamically wrap around its content. .

This is my first time making a website with Div’s and CSS – So its probably me thats doing something wrong here.

EDIT: – Moved sourcecode to jsFiddle

chrisburton
    Participant

@Christer Why do yo have an absolute positioned page wrap?

Christer

@ChristopherBurton – as i said in the post, its my first css and div layed out webpage –
    Im not 100% sure why i put absolute on it, still working out some understanding of some of the things, as far as i know its basicly like this:
    Relative: When you want the child div’s position to be set relative to this div.
    Absolute: When you want to absolute position something based on parents(witch is the “relative” div) position.
    – could be some debug code – changed it now.
    And i guess i managed to figure out the auto resizing problem.

@cnwtx
    – As you didnt understand the problem, ill try to explain it incase anybody else get the same –

The DIV with the id of “container” got resized if you resized your browser window.
    But the content inside would stay put – witch resulted in (depending on the overflow settings) that the content would have been hidden aswell.

The fix:
    Inside divs should not have a height. atleast not in % value.

New Problem: