Forums

The forums ran from 2008-2020 and are now closed and viewable here as an archive.

Home Forums CSS Repetive Background Theme

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 27 total)
  • Author
    tommer
    Participant

Here’s a link to a single (sub)page on my website,

http://www.tr-built.com/cherrykitchen.htm

I’m in the process of trying to straighten up my horrendous coding (sorry, I’m new at this), so I’m (hopefully) going to start by cutting down down on some heavy repitition.

I need to do at least a dozen other (5-picture) pages that look just about exactly the same as this one, just with different pictures and a different ‘titlebar’ each time (the navigation menu will stay the same each time).

Both the titlebar and the navbars provide links, – – with the navbar links (home and contact) remaining the same each time, but the title bar will have a different title and a different link each time, – – but the pictures will have the same layout and location and be the same size every time.

I don’t need any detailed code or anything, – – just an (even rough) idea of the best and most efficient way to tackle this using css and html.

Would I try to accomplish it by starting with it as a background image??

Or maybe do it with coding only and a separate style page??

If someone could lead me in the right general direction I promise to screw it up and be back with more fun questions!! LOL

Thanks in advance for any help.

Bob

Just what is your question really?

virtual
    Participant

Well for one thing, most people expect to see the logo and header at the top of every page and the navigation immediately below or to one side. All your pages should have the header and navigation on them in the same place.

Definitely put all your styling in an external css file and link to it.