Forums

The forums ran from 2008-2020 and are now closed and viewable here as an archive.

Home Forums CSS Question concerning CSS Tables

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    Matt

I’ve been relying on css float: elements for a looong time to do whatever I need. I’ve been working out quirks behind other browsers, which implies IE<insert number here>. Though, I’ve been thinking, why aren’t css tables used more in design? They’re fully accessible, since your HTML markup doesn’t affect the positioning. It ends the need for all these hacks like clearing floats after a margin collapses. If not the best advantage, it makes it easier for newbies to become accommodated to CSS. CSS is easy to learn, to a degree, until those quirks hit. When I was a newbie (should say "while I am still a"), this would (does) infinitely frustrate me.

While I agree that there’s no need to go overboard with CSS-Tables, it is absolutely the way of the future for CSS-Layouts. IE8 supports it, Firefox has supported it since 1.5 (albeit with some bugs, one being reported in 2002 but just fixed this year, and still not committed to an outstanding release), Safari since 2.1 (methinks), and Opera for some time now.

As for older web-browsers, I still have a long-standing philosophy that, as a web-user, it’s my job to keep MY software up-to-date. Failure to do so, and failure to see web pages correctly, is my fault, and my fault only. As for businesses, that’s why conditional style-sheets were born. IE is really the only web-browser that needs them anyways. As for the screen-reader crowd. Even if they use older web-browsers that don’t support css-tables, screen readers mostly ignore stylesheets anyways. They only read the markup. Since the tables are defined as a style instead of markup, the markup still flows, and the stylesheets are ignored.