Forums

The forums ran from 2008-2020 and are now closed and viewable here as an archive.

Home Forums Other Protect Javascript?

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Author
    TC
    Participant

Hi everyone.

I’m fairly new to Javascript but I’m wondering how can I protect my Javascript code from the eyes of others?

In the future if I get good enough I want to create products made from Javascript.

But if there’s no way to protect my hard work it doesn’t make sense to create products for sale using Javascript?

I have found this website but I don’t know how it works:
    https://jscrambler.com/en/tour?gclid=CjwKEAjw5NihBRCZmdLkuuTHyWYSJACtCY0JdVBy2_zaRdziDEcwGrZnb2ngnClR1N1ElW072MvtPhoCN23w_wcB

Thank you.

TheDoc

Meh, pretty pointless. At the end up the day you’ll be serving up minified and compressed files that won’t be easy to replicate.

shaneisme
    Participant

I’m a strong supporter of full open-sourcing, the benefits are amazing.

That’s just my opinion.

Even if you don’t do anything weird like scrambling up the code so it’s illegible, you can still set up the license to protect your work if you’re planning on selling it. I’m certainly not an expert on that, but I’m pretty sure you’d have to hire a lawyer for that kind of thing. Even if you use a server-side language I can’t see by viewing the source of your site you’d want to do this.

TC
    Participant

Hmm.

I’d think if the code wasn’t protected I’d get totally ripped off.

Meh, pretty pointless. At the end up the day you’ll be serving up minified and compressed files that won’t be easy to replicate.

I will?
    I’m new so I don’t know enough about it but right now I’m writing full Javascript and php.

Even if you don’t do anything weird like scrambling up the code so it’s illegible, you can still set up the license to protect your work if you’re planning on selling it.