Forums

The forums ran from 2008-2020 and are now closed and viewable here as an archive.

Home Forums CSS Problems in IE11 filling empty vertical space within flexbox fixed contents

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 1 post (of 1 total)
  • Author
    Troubled-Beginner
    Participant

Hi all

It’s my first post here, I hope not to do anything wrong and please excuse if I commit murder to the Oxford dictionary, my english level isn’t very good.

First of all, I’m not a web developer, I’m just a systems engineer who have basic knowledge of web coding. Now I need to make a simple web splash page to use it as a king of bulletin board for our network. We want to show info sometimes when users log into their computers. Te good part is that I knew for sure that this pages will be EVER rendered on a IE 11 under Windows 7 or 10. So, there’s no need to worry about different browsers and even I can use shady tricks that work on IE11 even if they are not recommended.

What I’m trying to do is to mimic the layout of an internal newsletter of the company, so the users recognize those web pop-ups and boss be pleased to see we follow the corporate image. The layout seems easy (to me) but it’s being very frustrating to code, let me describe it:

• The whole newsletter will appear centered horizontally on the browser window
    • The newsletter has 4 separated horizontal strips, one over the other, full width (no usual sidebars with content)
    • The first strip contains the department name and the company logo
    • The second strip contains an icon and the title about the content
    • The third strip is where it will be the main content of the newsletter that should be vertically centered
    • The fourth strip is a simple footer with basic contact info
    • The main content strip is surrounded left and right by a thin border of the same color as on title and footer strips, so it seems to enclose the content.