Forums

The forums ran from 2008-2020 and are now closed and viewable here as an archive.

Home Forums CSS positioning text over an image

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Author
    balkbio
    Participant

Hi there, please help. I am new at this but have been doing a lot of reading on the subject and cannot figure out what the problem with my code is. I want to float some text over a specific part of an image (absolute positioning with respect to the image, right? So I used nested divs), and I want that image to be centered on the page. Here is the code and I can’t figure out for the life of me why it’s not working:

Code:
    body {background: white;
    color: black;
    font-size: 14px;
    font-family: Helvetica,san-serif;
    text-align: center}
    .image {position: relative;
    align: center;}
    .image .text {position: absolute;
    top: 15px;
    left: 380px;
    width: 558px;
    text-align: justify;
    line-height: 125%;
    font-family: Courier}
    Code:
    photo collage

Balk Biological Consulting was founded in 2006 by biologist Michelle L. Balk, in Encinitas, CA. After spending

five years at Dudek & Associates, Inc. (now just “Dudek”) learning the ropes, Ms. Balk decided to hang out her own

shingle.

As our specialty is botany, we spend much of our field time conducting special-status plant species surveys and

vegetation mapping throughout California. See our services page for more information on

what we do and where we work.

It looks ok on my screen until I resize the browser window–then the text moves around. But with the nested divs shouldn’t the text positioning be relative to the position of the image? What is wrong with the code?

By the way, if I take out the "position: relative" for the image, the image is still centered on the page (because it inherits the text-align: center" styling??) but the text jumps around even worse, I guess because it doesn’t "see" that there is even an image?