Forums

The forums ran from 2008-2020 and are now closed and viewable here as an archive.

Home Forums CSS Positioning problems in CSS

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Author
    dhawkinson
    Participant

As I try to refine my code and employ (what I think are best practices) I find myself playing the “one step forward, two steps back” game. I am a newbie trying to produce a personal website as a portfolio to help me find a job as a developer.

The HTML and CSS you will see is written by me. Behind it is the latest version of the Bootstrap (getbootstrap.com) “normalize.css” (v 3.3.5). I am trying not to touch the normalize.css because I am under the impression (mistaken maybe?) that it will represent best practices, so I didn’t include it. I am assuming I will be able override any variations I need in my main.css.

I welcome any help I can get.

I am not sure why everything renders so large on codepen.io. The screenshot demonstrates the way it renders in teamtreehouse.com workspaces.

The image and tagline should centered vertically/horizontally within their containers. (the containers have borders for testing). I had these positioned using padding etc., but I am trying to actually use positioning CSS to center them (vert and horiz).

The pagequote is roughly where I expect it to be, but it should have a top border. The missing top border is another “two steps back” issue.

As you can see the footer is high and not centered. I had it pinned to the bottom for a while as I want it to be. But this is a “two-steps back” issue.

Thanks for whatever help you will provide.

Link to code:
    http://codepen.io/dhawkinson/pen/rOqxdQ

Link to Screenshot of present rendering:
    https://s3-us-west-2.amazonaws.com/s.cdpn.io/405383/Screenshot_2015-11-06_16.10.50.jpg

Paulie_D

You have way too much going on in there and you have asked several questions all at once.