Forums

The forums ran from 2008-2020 and are now closed and viewable here as an archive.

Home Forums JavaScript Please critique my technique

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Author

Hi, I’m pretty new to jQuery as a whole and really have appreciated the help and feedback of these forums. I just was hoping someone could tell me if this is the best way to do this. I finally got this thing working (haven’t added all the sweet stuff to it).

http://www.citrusbunny.com/
    *It’s the "Contact Us" on the right side – supposed to slide out*

through my research it seems there are a ton of different ways to get jQuery to do what you want. Was this the best way to execute this? Should I have done it differently?

I just want to make sure I’m doing it right rather than "just making it work".

This is the code for the slide:

stylesheet.css

Code:
    li.action {
    font-family: georgia;
    font-size: 20px;
    color: #777;
    margin-left:15px;
    }
    li.action:hover {
    color: #000;
    }
    #contactslide {
    height: 200px;
    width: 250px;
    background-color:#ffffff;
    margin-left: 40px;
    padding:0px;
    margin-top:0px;
    margin-bottom:0px;
    }

indexcustom.php

Code:
    • Contact Us

520-555-5555

Header.php

Code:

Nope – that looks just fine! The only important thing is that it makes sense to you and anyone else that will be coding on the site.

Mr KiTT3N

Few things to note, avoid using inline styling

Code:

For questions of any kind, please call us Monday – Friday 8am to 5pm. Otherwise email us and we will contact you in 2 shakes of a lambs tail.

520-205-2306

Code:

For questions of any kind, please call us Monday – Friday 8am to 5pm. Otherwise email us and we will contact you in 2 shakes of a lambs tail.

520-205-2306

// css file
    div#contactslide p { text-align: center; }
    div#contactslide p.contactNumber { font-family: georgia; color: rgb(119, 119, 119); font-weight: bold; font-size: 30px;}