Forums

The forums ran from 2008-2020 and are now closed and viewable here as an archive.

Home Forums Back End PHP learning.

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author
    Attila Hajzer
    Participant

What are some things in PHP that i can do to learn it more effectively. i have a friend that “wants” to teach me, but isn’t doing anything about it, and what he calls teaching , is just telling me to do things… which isn’t helping .. the thing he told my yesterday was .. “make a CMS.” i’m just starting out. i can do include functions, and i know how to open and close php syntax. as well as that variables start with a $ sign.. i don’t know a whole lot. i’ve been on w3schools. but i can’t find anything to on the site, where i can make something to learn what i’m trying to learn. i have no idea if that makes sense but i’m trying to explain myself. to the best o my abilities.

fjorko

You could also check out php academy here

I have found Alex’s tutorials very helpful to learn about php…

Cheers

eagleworks

I found the best way when starting out was to set yourself a little project for a few hours and see if you can complete it.

Basic CMS using .txt files for paragraphs is always fun. Covers opening files, editing etc.

davidlab.be
    Participant

hey attilahajzer …from this post a couple weeks ago I thought you were already a programmer. myspace?

https://css-tricks.com/forums/discussion/comment/44960/#Comment_44960

ccc630

In terms of learning jQuery and PHP, I’ve found Sitepoint’s books to be extremely helpful: thorough, to the point, and relatively easy to follow (that’s not to suggest I’m an expert in either language, of course :).

seb_z_lite

hi there,I m also a newbie in terms of PHP and Jquery and I learn a lot through reading books and one of the best books that I have is this free e-book that you should download here:

http://www.computer-books.us/php_2.php

also, I recently found out about the school of webcraft: