Forums

The forums ran from 2008-2020 and are now closed and viewable here as an archive.

Home Forums CSS Overflow: hidden in nested div Firefox Bug

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Author
    Witchdoc

Hey there all – firstly, I’m a newbie to the forum, and I usually don’t sign up for new accounts unless I really feel the need. But I’m really stumped on this one. I’m believing its def a CSS issue. If not then it’s likely a scripting conflict. But I need to make sure. If it’s a red flag for the latter, speak up! I’ll figure out another solution.

I’m having a problem with my script generated tab nav element (for coda-slider 2.0) honoring the overflow:hidden property in Firefox on a Mac. The ul nav is a single child in a nested div and set to no position or floats. It’s fine in IE 8, Safari, Opera, Firefox(pc), (IE7 has issues I’ll deal with later, and vertical overflow is apparent I understand). I’ve checked the source code of the script in all browsers and all works fine. But it seems that my CSS, is pushing out my ul width to ???. I can’t call out any width to the ul element either no matter what I try. I’ve applied positioning, z-indexing, clearing floats, eliminating float elements to nested and parent div’s – all the recommended fixes to no avail. If I AP the ul, I can’t position it. Which I obviously need to do. Firefox overflow prop still shows scrollbar?!?! I’m out of ideas. Any help?!?!

url:
    http://voodoobean.com/voodoo2/gallery.html

CSS:
    .coda-nav ul {
    overflow: hidden;
    clear: both;
    border: 1px solid #201103;
    padding-left: 30px;
    }
    .coda-nav ul li {
    display: inline;
    font-size: .70em;
    letter-spacing: .1em;
    }
    .coda-nav ul li a {
    margin: 60px 0 0 0;
    float: left;
    background: #6a4324;
    color: #ce965a;
    padding: 7px 12px;
    text-decoration: none;
    font-family: "Trebuchet MS";
    text-transform: uppercase;
    border: 1px solid #201103;
    }