Forums

The forums ran from 2008-2020 and are now closed and viewable here as an archive.

Home Forums Other Optimizing front-end code for large scale websites

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author
    calleynye
    Participant

Hey all,

I’ve been a front-end developer for some time now, and I consider myself pretty good. Problem is, that my experience has been largely freelance, so I don’t have much experience with large sites that have been around for awhile.

I recently got a job as a the first front-end developer for a startup that has been around for 3 years. It’s a pretty huge site, and we have hundreds of thousands of users. So even small changes have a ripple effect that I’m not used to.

It’s been a struggle getting used to this kind of system, and there’s all sorts of challenges.

For example, our stylesheets are HUGE. Every time I want to make a change, I find all sorts of weird dependencies so everything becomes a bigger job. Not to mention that all the front-end code has been done by back-end developers up until this point, so it is FAR from organized and elegant code.

One of the reasons they wanted to hire me, was to start making the site responsive. I’m working on making a specific project responsive, and to do so I thought it best to make a whole new template and stylesheet, independent of the others so I wouldn’t have to contend with all the existing CSS. And that works when we’re creating something new from scratch, but it’s more challenging when we get into the rest of the site and existing pages.

I’d also like to clean up how the stylesheets are built and served. So we can limit the unused CSS per page. We use SASS/Compass.

So, any advice you can offer towards any of my problems would be greatly appreciated. Also, if there any books or resources out there that you think would help, please pass them on. I love this job and the startup, and I’d really like to be able to make it kick ass.

Thanks!

Alen