Forums

The forums ran from 2008-2020 and are now closed and viewable here as an archive.

Home Forums CSS On-Page Dictionary in CSS Only?

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author
    redington

I’m still relatively new to CSS. My experience with PHP is limited to a simple email form project about 12 years ago. My experience with JS is that I can copy others’ examples into my html.

I am developing a site for legal advice on a specific topic for a lower-lit audience. It is a simple 1 column wireframe and will have around 15 or 20 pages. I would love to have a static div box on the right (no problem for me to make the div and place it) so that if a user clicks on a legal term of art in the body of the text, that static div is populated with that term and its definition (predetermined). I think the set of terms would be limited to less than about 50.

I have no idea where to even get started with this idea. Will I have to use a backend database? Is there a way that I can do this only in CSS? If so, any ideas on how to start? I don’ t even know what to call what I’m looking for. Thanks for any help.

redington

One last question – is this idea just way over my untrained head?

theacefes

I would say no, that it’s not over your head ;) but you should probably iron out the basics of web markup before you try something like this. CSS is for layout – no text or content will be produced with it – it’s all about styling content. You could use PHP to help you populate that static box either with a text file that can be read line by line or with a database.

You may want to read up on the differences of CSS, HTML, and maybe Javascript and PHP and how they work together.

redington