Forums

The forums ran from 2008-2020 and are now closed and viewable here as an archive.

Home Forums Other new website

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    ninjacd1

Hi I just made a new website for myself and I’m new to the web design world so any feed back you guys can give would be most helpful

http://jonmackay.com/

thanks Jon

Andy Staple
    Participant

I really like the simplicity of the design, colors, and layout. Good work in that department.

The logo however, really needs to go. That giant stroke on the logo, and its type itself is not very good, and for a graphic designer looks very amateurish. The footer also feels out of place. The link colors, and the links itself just seem like spam at the bottom of the page. I think if you can update those 2 things, the site will be very nice.

ninjacd1

OK I’ve updated those two items. The links I kinda have to have for promotional reasons but I think the new colors work

Zonglars

While the overall design it nice, I’ve have several problems with the details.

• The logo seems very out of place typographically; it doesn’t match with the tone set by the fonts you use in the rest of the site. Either change the logo or choose a more modern font for the titles (where you’re using Georgia I believe).[/*:m]
    • Your ads in the portfolio need to have bigger full-size versions; they’re all no bigger than 450×450; try more for 600 or 800 pixels, otherwise it looks like you’re getting a slightly larger thumbnail.[/*:m]
    • Your websites in the portfolio need to link to the actual sites, not a small preview window. Just disable the lightbox on those links.[/*:m]
    • I think you went a bit leading happy with your body text; a line height of 3? try 1.5 or 2 at the most. Increasing the leading/line-height does improve readability, but this is ridiculous; it makes each line look like a separate sentence.[/*:m]