Forums

The forums ran from 2008-2020 and are now closed and viewable here as an archive.

Home Forums Design New to everything with website code and design, Help with first website

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author
    iizag
    Participant

Hi, I am new to everything. I have discovered how awesome website creation and design is and I have been learning how to code, Css and web design on my own. I am sure I will / have been making mistakes but I want to learn what is wrong and how I can fix it. I want to become really good at this so all the help I can get is wonderful so thanks in advance!

I am building a website for my father’s liquor store. It is still in the design/ creation stages so it is not up ( there is not content on the site just jiberish to see how future content will look like)

The website is: http://pantryliquors2.com/
    The Breakdown:
    1.) At this point I am mainly working on the homepage. The homepage really shows the color scheme. I went with a triadic color scheme. I also read up on color theory and added this orange-red like color to the design (that also fit into the triadic color scheme) to catch the users attention. So first question is give me your opinion on the color of the site so far and there locations.
    2.) Give me your advice/opinion on the websites background. – I went with a wood texture and then near the footer I added a Png image of a wine stain to give it some affect.
    3.) What do you think about the code so far of the website?
    4.) I can’t find any links that tell me what to add to css to make sure the website renders in older versions of Internet explorer ( and should I worry about this , I see its 50/50 in opinions on this topic)
    5.) Any tips ?

Thank you, and please understand I am only about 4 months in teaching myself about all of this, I am completely new. But I really want to give me fathers store a great website.

lrelia
    Participant