Forums

The forums ran from 2008-2020 and are now closed and viewable here as an archive.

Home Forums CSS New to CSS. Anyone want to see mt first attempt :)

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Author
    GeneralKnowledge
    Participant

I just started learning CSS last night so forgive my terrible design.

http://beta.squrk.com

I am more of a php programmer. I would appreciate any feedback it is obvious in the early stages.

Also quick question does anyone know why having doctype “” stops “background-size: 100% 100%;” from running?

Is it because background-size: is CSS3.

I am also interested on the background image. Does it show which city you are in correctly. How close it is?

Thanks for your time.

GeneralKnowledge

Waffle

I must say, your CSS isn’t bad if you say it’s your first go.
    Personally, for something so simple, I would have done 1 main Div id.. and then div classes for the items inside the main div id.

For example;

Squrk!!

ETC ETC.

This way, it’s much easier to style, a litle bit less code… and rather than giving each element the positioning.. its done in 1 hit.

jamygolden

I think you should use ID’s wherever possible instead of classes, however, IDs should only be used once per page. As far as I know, javascript and CSS render IDs faster than classes. Also, try and keep you CSS selectors as precise as possible, eg: ‘a’ or ‘#menu a{}’, instead of ‘html body #content ul#menu li a{}’

I would do it like this:
    CSS

HTML

Regarding the background-size and doctype, I’m not sure. Try using this doctype instead:

As for the map. It’s way off :p I’m in South Africa and it was showing a map of Los Altos.

GeneralKnowledge
    Participant