Forums

The forums ran from 2008-2020 and are now closed and viewable here as an archive.

Home Forums Other New Starkers Theme

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author
    Watson90

Hey guys

I am new to signing up to CSS-Tricks however not new to this website. I have learnt so much through Chris and his great posts and screencasts.

I have been designing and developing websites for a total of about 2 years. And I am a complete beginner with WordPress! I have developed a website for a friend of mine who is a Photographer, he blogs and would like to add new content to his website on a daily basis, obviously WordPress is one of the best solutions for him to use a CMS.

I recently watched Chris’s screencast regarding Kailin Yong’s website from Photoshop to WordPress and he makes it look really easy. So I downloaded the Starkers Theme but now it has been updated to be HTML5 ready however has no sidebar.php file as it isn’t widget aware is it says! Being HTML5 ready is obviously a good thing for future-proofing but it has really stumped me as I can no longer follow Chris’s tutorial.

Is there a way I can get the older version of Starkers or is there any other themes I could use, I have came across one called HTML5 Reset Theme, this has all of the files such as functions.php and sidebar.php that I need. Or is it best if I just knuckle down and get to grips with the damn thing?

Thanks in advance for any advice you can give, it’s really appreciated.

Steven

chrisburton
    Participant

I personally love the HTML5 Reset Theme. It feels much lighter than Starkers. But I agree with Jamy if you have the free time.

Watson90

Thanks for both of your replies, I will look into to _s when I have some time on my hands. I have just downloaded the HTML5 Reset Theme and I will begin to have a go at adding my custom HTML and CSS.

Watson90