Forums

The forums ran from 2008-2020 and are now closed and viewable here as an archive.

Home Forums CSS Need help with positioning box link in CSS

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 22 total)
  • Author
    agogley
    Participant

I’m a total newb. I’ve been teaching myself HTML and CSS so that I can finish a redesign of a website for my church. Unsurprisingly, I need help.

I’m providing a temp link here.
    Here is the relevant CSS line for nav-bar.png.

#nav-bar{background:url(images/nav-bar.png) no-repeat; width:826px; height:97px; float:right}

You can see where nav-bar shows up in the html on line 23 in a div id.

If you look at the upper right, you see a text box that shows “EMAIL US.” That text is actually created as part of a PSD file which is then saved as a PNG file called “nav-bar.png.” I tried to include a slice or hotspot in both Photoshop and Fireworks but it doesn’t carry over into html (I’m using Dreamweaver, btw). I’ve been trying to figure out a way to make just that “EMAIL US” into a clickable area that allows the use of a mailto command. The best idea I’ve come across so far includes a the use of a box-link which creates a box that I can then make transparent and stick over the “EMAIL US.” I’ve played around with the following CSS code:

#box-link {
    position: absolute;
    top: 51px;
    left: 853px;
    width: 101px;
    height: 21px;
    background-color: transparent;
    border: 1px transparent;
    overflow: auto;
    }

The html would be placed on line 23 after the Div ID entry as follows:

Ok, that seems to create the box and make it clickable. The problem is that I can’t get it to say exactly the where I want it (that is over the EMAIL US text). It seems to say “absolute” depending on the window size. I assume it has to do with my positioning commands in the CSS or that I’ve placed the anchor tag on the wrong line in the html.

Any help, suggestions, or comments would be helpful.