Forums

The forums ran from 2008-2020 and are now closed and viewable here as an archive.

Home Forums JavaScript Need help making transparent transition in slideshow

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 21 total)
  • Author
    wristcutter69
    Participant

Hi everyone, I recently made a very simple javascript slideshow in my website, however I’d really like to add a fancy transition with some kind of opacity between my pictures.

I already tried, to make use of the “-webkit” property using “fade in” and “fade out”on CSS but it didn’t work in any way at all…

I’d really like some guidance in this since I’m very new to javascript and I’m getting confused about how to reach a solution to this problem.

Here is my code:

See the Pen eBRabp by hell nino ( @wristcutter69) on CodePen.

Paulie_D

You’ll probably need to make a working demo using actual images first.

wristcutter69
    Participant

I updated the code pen with actual images now

Paulie_D

Yes, you can.

If you don’t have the images hosted on line I’d suggest you use an image replacement option like

http://www.placebacon.net/

or

http://www.fillmurray.com/

wristcutter69
    Participant

Ok
    I updated tthe code pen

See the Pen KNvabg by hell nino ( @wristcutter69) on CodePen.

wristcutter69
    Participant

As you can see the slideshow works as it is intended and I’d just like to add a transparent or opacity effect while one picture transitions to another, but I don’t have any clue on how to do that and I tried several methods that ended up not working in any way…

Shikkediel
    Participant

Here’s one way:

Link

But it’s crude, using ontransitionend would be nicer.

wristcutter69
    Participant

Works like a charm and as wonderfully!!! Pardon my ignorance but when I try to work with the actual files in my computer, the whole thing fails…