Forums

The forums ran from 2008-2020 and are now closed and viewable here as an archive.

Home Forums Other Need feedback. Learned some tricks on this site.

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 14 posts - 1 through 14 (of 14 total)
  • Author
    catalguyu

Hey, guys! This site has really helped in refining some old skills. I’m an architect (The Building type) looking to display some of my work online just for kicks. I learned a few tricks on this site and I tried employing them. I also know a little Dreamweaver (mostly for presentation purposes as an architect) I don’t have any access to the program. I whipped-up my site on some goofy program. I was wondering if someone can give me some feedback on my work. Thanks in advanced!!! http://www.arch-station.com
    C. Alberto

SaraMarie

Seconding the slow BG load time. I like the effect on the splash page’s logo, by why is it not on the main page’s logo? Keep it, man! But take the effect off the part that says your name, so that part can read more clearly. Also, just lose the splash page altogether. Splash pages are like dreams and poems: only the owner/writer/creator of those things likes them, and everyone else find them annoying and/or boring. But since you’re sprucing up “old skills” I totally understand. I was guilty of splash-paging a long time ago, too. *g*

Spacing… your vertical spacing is off. Tighten that up. Keep the horizontal rules but lose the dashes around objects. The thick, white border around the online radio player is plenty.

Avoid iframes. I know some portfolios have put everything on one page and use some cool JS tricks for presentation of it all, but it only works I think if you only have a few things. If you need a scrollbar for your text, it should go on a separate page.

Your text columns should stretch out to fit the whole content column, and add a higher line-height.

But otherwise, cool start, and not bad for someone who says they’ve been doing things other than design for awhile.

catalguyu