Forums

The forums ran from 2008-2020 and are now closed and viewable here as an archive.

Home Forums Design Navigation menu on every page (no php, please)

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    ComputerGuy
    Participant

Thanks to help from this forum, I have a navigation menu. What I want now is to have that navbar on every html page without of course having to copy and paste the contents into the page. I basically have this:

Sample

Then I have some ul and li elements with the links to the pages. I have been searching online, but I’m getting too many different answers. I want this all done via HTML and/or CSS, if possible. I’m not an expert in either, but I can follow instructions.

My plan is that one page is the navbar, with only the bar in the tag. Then of course, I’ll point to that navbar on every page, where I’ll then also have my content.

I just need to know how to link the navbar to every page. I can give more details, I was trying to be brief.

Beverleyh
    Participant

The most basic HTML and CSS approach I think would be an iframe – navigation in the main page (targeting the iframe) and then have individual content/pages displayed through the (named) iframe.

This isn’t ideal though because without the use of JavaScript, your homepage would be the only bookmarkable page. Iframes can also confuse visitors because they give the appearance of messing with the browser’s ‘back’ function.

I wouldn’t use it at all if I could help it, and if I absolutely had to, I would only suggest using it on the most simple of websites (5 or so pages).

If you want to research more and see if this works for you, try Googling something like “named iframes and linking to them with the target attribute”.