Forums

The forums ran from 2008-2020 and are now closed and viewable here as an archive.

Home Forums CSS My First Non Table based Site

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 15 total)
  • Author
    pkinchla
    Participant

So I just finished the overhaul of my portfolio site and was wondering if anyone would care to give their 2 cents. I am still a noob when it comes to this stuff but I think I have made a lot of progress over the last year and CSS Tricks has definitely been a big part of this. Any feed back is very much appreciated.

my site

Ethan27

Nice site man

One thing I would say is that the header might confuse some people, it takes up to much of the page. You could seperate your logo and menu into different sections and float them to opposite sides and not have the content scroll under it.

The colors are great though and the background image is really cool!

iancoates

I agree with Ethan27. Nice site but I wouldn’t keep the header positioned at the top.

pkinchla
    Participant

Thanks for the feedback it is much appreciated. I have been struggling with what to do with the banner. I will try out your suggestions.

Thanks Again!

renancoelho

I really like it. However, I think you should make the header a tiny bit smaller. Also, The fixed navigation sounds cool in theory but in practice is not working on this case. I think it will fell much better if it is not fixed. Other, once you fix that I think it will be really nice. Good work!!

pkinchla
    Participant

So I reworked the header a bit using everyones suggestions, and I am not sure how I feel about. I am sold on the idea of fixed navigation. Again, any feedback is much appreciated.

Alternate Banner and Navigation

ccc630

I like the alternate much, much more — your content now takes center stage, as opposed to the giant header. It’s a vast improvement!