Forums

The forums ran from 2008-2020 and are now closed and viewable here as an archive.

Home Forums CSS My first contract! Looking for guidance on Liquid layout. Almost done!

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author
    Schot

First time poster here. Hello! As the title implies I am presently working on my first design contract and boy was I ever not prepared. I was asked to set up an online cookie shop and we both agreed that a fluid/liquid layout would be nice. Little did I know what I was getting myself into. I’m a hobby-ist designer and everything I know comes from tinkering. On top of that Ive only had experience through my ipb and mediawiki sites. For this project I chose Prestashop for my clients shop. My client had been dabbling with photoshop and so we worked on the graphics together. He created the logo for himself, we built the elements together and then we created the layout that was to be rendered online after choosing a hosting package for him and setting it all up.

Shortly after this point is when I realized I was in for a lot of late nights… CSS positioning and whatnot was not something I knew much about. It has taken weeks to get to this point and it was tonight I finally had a breakthrough using @media queries. Whew!

From what I can tell the layout should work with all desktop and laptop screens. If I could now just make it fit nicely on an iphone my client and I would be very happy.

Does anyone have some advice for this novice designer. I would really appreciate it! :)

yodoughcookies.com

Schot

Ooooook, well I thought I had this positioning stuff figured out but boy was I wrong. Help!