Forums

The forums ran from 2008-2020 and are now closed and viewable here as an archive.

Home Forums CSS Moving from table to div driving me bonkers

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author
    doncullen

I’m from the old heyday from using tables as layout. I’d like to move to a div based layout to bring the site up to more modern specs. I’m not an expert on div positioning. That being said, this is what it’d look like using table:

Header
    Left Column Right Column

Footer

The width of the header and footer are set to 100%, the height of the header is set to 100px, footer to 50px, and the content takes up the rest of the space in the middle. In the content, there’s two columns, each take up 50% for width each. You’ll note I added padding to the left column (50px), this is to demonstrate padding works fine.

Now, when doing it via div:

Left Column

Right Column

When you view that in a browser, the content goes past the footer. If I attempt to use absolute positioning, that results in padding behaving strangely in the corresponding div; padding will push content from the left (as expected), but it won’t push content from the top (as if it had 0px of padding — unexpected). Even doing padding-top: 50px !important; won’t be honored by the browser. This behavior seems to be the same in Firefox.

While I could just stay in the table layout since it works fine, I’d like to modernize it, and moreover, I’d like to understand div positioning better if I’m to stay with the times.

Thanks in advance for your time, and for your consideration/assistance! It most certainly is appreciated!

Senff
    Participant

Congratulations on moving from tables to divs! You have taken your first step into a larger world.