Forums

The forums ran from 2008-2020 and are now closed and viewable here as an archive.

Home Forums CSS Mobile Navigation Dropdown

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author
    Jeremy Englert
    Participant

Hi Guys,

Currently, I’m working on a mobile navigation. here is what I have so far:
    http://jsfiddle.net/JeremyEnglert/9cK3X/2/

As you can see, the parent links are highlighted in blue while the child links are highlighted in grey.

I would like to make it so only the parent links show until a parent link is clicked – in which case the child elements will then show. However, I would like the child elements to show without the page having to reload.

I’m assuming I will have to use some jQuery to make this happen – which I have very little experience with.

Anyone want to get me pointed in the right direction?

Senff
    Participant

Here’s a quick setup: http://jsfiddle.net/senff/9cK3X/3/

Senff
    Participant

When I look at the end of your jQuery library, I see this line:

jQuery.noConflict();

That means you should change $ to jQuery everywhere in your code, but you’ve replaced it with $j — so that’s why it won’t work.

Try this code on your site:

jQuery(‘ul.menu > li > a’).click(function(e) {

jQuery(‘ul.sub-menu’).slideUp(‘normal’);

if(jQuery(this).next(‘ul.sub-menu’).is(‘:hidden’) == true) {
    jQuery(this).next(‘ul.sub-menu’).slideDown(‘normal’);
    }

e.preventDefault();

JohnMotylJr
    Participant

@JeremyEnglert, you were simply forgetting to include }); at the end of the .click( ) method. Also, when using jsFiddle or CodePen you really do not need to include script tags. There is a little button at the very top (JSLINT) which will tell you any/all errors. You were able to get away with == rather then using ===. jsFiddle will always catch on that.

Forked Copy: http://jsfiddle.net/john_motyl/LGCXV/

Senff
    Participant

On jsfiddle, there is no noConflict mode so you’ll have to keep using $ there.