Forums

The forums ran from 2008-2020 and are now closed and viewable here as an archive.

Home Forums Back End Menu Split by logo – WP Twenty Fourteen

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 20 total)
  • Author
    r3quiem
    Participant

I have been recieving help on another part of the forum from @chrisburton and @wolfcry911 as to possible solutions and would appreciate any help.

I am using the WP Twenty Fourteen theme and looking to split my top navigation menu in 2 around a central logo (img which will be used as a link)

Current Navigation: http://s22.postimg.org/a62l7kckh/Top_Nav.jpg
    Desired Navigation: http://s27.postimg.org/o2wlaiwyr/Top_Nav_wanted.jpg

I am new to PHP.
    If this could be done solely with html/css that would be great, however I cant find the HTML running behind the wordpress theme.

Thanks in advance

chrisburton
    Participant

Let me know when you get the FTP issue sorted out.

r3quiem
    Participant

Hi @chrisburton

I have done exactly what you said

@r3quiem I contacted Chris Coyier to get the above post fixed so you could copy the PHP to put into your theme. I no longer use WordPress because it’s pretty much overkill for most websites so I had to download it for the following answer.

First, let’s get organized.

Create a file inside your theme and name it menu.php. Now, go into header.php and scroll down until you get to the navigation. Copy the navigation to menu.php and save. In header.php, replace that navigation code you’ve just copied with the following:

include ‘menu.php’;

menu.php should look like this
    header.php should look like this.

From this point I will have to wait until the post above is fixed so I can copy the code and help you further. At least your structure is a bit more organized.>

But now I seem to have lost my nav completely. Am i supposed to name the 2 anything specific?

chrisburton
    Participant