Forums

The forums ran from 2008-2020 and are now closed and viewable here as an archive.

Home Forums JavaScript Loading…

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author
    CameronDuthie
    Participant

Hi there,

I’m currently trying to get a website to load and i’m having a spot of difficulty and i was hoping someone could help me out with it.

The effect that i’m going for is that i’d like to have a gif file looping through as the website loads in the background and then once loaded the gif file to fadeaway and then i’d like the whole website to fade in.

This is what i have so far,

$(window).load(function() {
    $('#loader').fadeOut(2000)
    });

$(function(){
    $('body').fadeIn(2000);
    });

This basically works fine apart from that they both run at the same time, instead i was hoping to run the .load script first then once completed the .fadeIn script to run.

Would anyone be able to nudge me in the right direction as i’m a total noob when it comes to jQuery?

Many Thanks,

Cameron

Johnnyb

Hey Cameron,

You could just trigger the fadeIn via a callback function on the fadeOut:

$(window).load(function() {
    $('#loader').fadeOut(2000, function(){
    $('body').fadeIn(2000);
    });
    });

The fadeIn will run only when the fadeOut animation has completed.

John

CameronDuthie
    Participant

@Johnnyb thanks for the tip, that’s a much cleaner way of doing it than i did but unfortunately it causes parts of the script to stop working, the $(‘#loader’).fadeOut(2000 doesn’t run at all but the $(‘body’).fadeIn works as expected though.

any other thoughts?

Thank you.

Cameron

Johnnyb

No worries, here’s an example of it working for you: http://jsfiddle.net/jXGnT/2/

CameronDuthie
    Participant

@JohnnyB Thanks for taking the time to write that fiddle.