Forums

The forums ran from 2008-2020 and are now closed and viewable here as an archive.

Home Forums Design Load random CSS on page load

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author
    slickrick
    Participant

Hi,
    i am a total newbie and try to get a little bit into coding.
    I´ve downladed some Javascript Code but it does not work.

What i intend to do is create 4-6 different css stylsheets ( fullscreen Backgrounds and Logo styles ) and load them randomly on page load.

How do i load the css files in the html? I know how to load a single one. But i dont know how to load several and where to place them so that the javascript can work with them.

What is the best to do it? PHP? Javascript?

I´ve seen many codes out there but they are always just the script without html example. And i am just to stupid to figure ot out.

Thx
    Cheers
    Flo

Beverleyh
    Participant

If you just want to load a single stylesheet each time, you could name them all as sequential numbers and use PHP’s mt_rand() function to call a random value each time.

So if you had 5 stylesheets, you could name them 1.css, 2.css, 3.css, 4.css and 5.css

Then insert a style link in the webpage head in the usual way, but echo in the number too. Something like;

<link rel="stylesheet" href="/path/to/styles/<?php echo(mt_rand(1,5));?>.css" />

(Untested – on mobile)

Shikkediel
    Participant

Continuing on Beverley’s example, here’s how you would do it with JS:

<head>
    <script>
    (function() {
    var sheet = document.createElement('link');
    sheet.rel  = 'stylesheet';
    sheet.href = '/path/to/styles/' + (Math.floor(Math.random()*5)+1) + '.css';
    document.getElementsByTagName('head')[0].appendChild(sheet);
    })();
    </script>
    </head>

slickrick
    Participant

Hey,
    thanks. That will help a lot.
    Only thing i have to figure out is how to use the PHP’s mt_rand() function. We will see.