Forums

The forums ran from 2008-2020 and are now closed and viewable here as an archive.

Home Forums CSS Last item (search box) in horizontal list going off the page

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author
    brown136
    Participant

The top navigation bar for my website fits on the homepage. The same code applied to other pages has the last item in the horizontal list going out of the right margin. I have tried many, many slight adjustments to the css, but either nothing happens or the problem gets worse.

Here is the current version. I have probably provided more of the code than necessary, but as a relative beginner I was afraid to leave something important out.

https://codepen.io/brown136/pen/MrPVoW

Beverleyh
    Participant

The last list item? Sorry but I don’t know what the “gcse:search” thing is – looks like some form of templating placeholder, but from what system, I couldn’t tell you. You’ll need to provide the HTML markup served in to the browser for whatever that is. You can do that by inspecting the DOM via the developer console – F12 in most browsers.

Also, you might want to consider adding the “toggled” class to a parent element in the CodePen demo so that we can actually see the menu. Presumably that’s being added by JavaScript, but unless you also include working JavaScript to reveal the menu, a manually added class will be the next best thing. Otherwise casual observers will take one look at the demo output and think “can’t see anything, can’t help”.

brown136
    Participant

I have added further code to the CodePen. Sorry for the confusion and thanks for responding. Please let me know if there is any further issue.

https://codepen.io/brown136/pen/MrPVoW