Forums

The forums ran from 2008-2020 and are now closed and viewable here as an archive.

Home Forums CSS JQuery validator not working in WordPress

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    Alan_Breck
    Participant

Hello,

I’m pretty new to WordPress, and am jumping right into it by creating my own template. I am trying to use a contact form that I found on this site (https://css-tricks.com/examples/ContactForm/), but somehow it just won’t work properly in a WordPress environment.

It doesn’t actually send the message. And the validator does not work when you put incorrect information in the fields.

When I used the same contact form on a static site, it worked just fine. Read Chris Coyier’s tutorial on properly including JQuery files which helped with one problem, but not the others.

The site is here – http://susanpriestart.com/?page_id=96

Thank you so much for your time!

~A.B.

clokey2k
    Participant

I can see that maybe the data in contactengine.php is incorrect, the success/error pages at least (a localhost reference is still there).

As for the jquery validator you have jquery loaded twice, the second (more up-to-date version) loads after the validate plugin, and probably destroys the plugin.

I set all of my jquery scripts to load in my functions.php, then they will load in order. Maybe try this yourself, try the example below (filling in the file locations correctly :-) ):

if (!is_admin()) {
    wp_deregister_script('jquery'); //Stop WordPress default jQuery
    wp_register_script('jquery', 'http://ajax.googleapis.com/ajax/libs/jquery/1.3.2/jquery.min.js', false, '1.3.2'); //Load Googles jQuery
    wp_enqueue_script('jquery');

//Load jquery plugin
    wp_register_script('jquery_validator','/path/to/js/jquery.validate.js', 'jquery', '1.0'); //'jquery' is passed as a reference so that this loads AFTER 'jquery'
    wp_enqueue_script('jquery_validator');

//Load custom script