Forums

The forums ran from 2008-2020 and are now closed and viewable here as an archive.

Home Forums JavaScript jQuery .on('click') not working on some mobile browsers

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Author
    koenigsegg1
    Participant

I’m using the following code for a contact form.

$(".btn").on('click', function(){
    $(".contact ,.overlay").removeClass("hidden");
    $('body').addClass("open-modal");
    })

But this doesn’t work on some mobile browsers. It works iOS Safari, Firefox, & 1Password, but not in Chrome, Google, or Opera Mini.
    I tried 'click touchstart' but that doesn’t seem to work either. I even wrapped it inside (document).ready but I cant get it to work. How can I get this to work in all mobile browsers?

live demo here.

P.S. For some reason the demo on Codepen it working fine http://cdpn.io/yYmYQP

P.P.S I’m new to writing in JS/jQuery so please go into detail!

Shikkediel
    Participant

Doesn’t make much sense to me but this stands out :

$(".btn").on('vclick', function(){

koenigsegg1
    Participant

I tried using vclick but that didn’t work either.

Shikkediel
    Participant

I didn’t see a plugin for that… it’s not regular JavaScript in any case. Can’t test it on those mobile browsers myself unfortunately. What happens if you do a simple alert() on mousedown touchstart?

koenigsegg1
    Participant

I added this code:

$(".btn").on('mousedown touchstart', function(){
        alert("The btn was clicked.");
     });

… and it triggered an alert. I’m not shure why it can’t do a basic .removeClass.

How do you usually add/remove classes by clicking an element on mobile devices? Am I doing something wrong? Like I said, I’m very new to JS, so I don’t understand a lot of things.

Shikkediel
    Participant

Using a click should normally work fine on any kind of browser. Not sure what’s going on here.

nkrisc
    Participant