Forums

The forums ran from 2008-2020 and are now closed and viewable here as an archive.

Home Forums JavaScript JQuery Animate jump to default image

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Author
    anink
    Participant

Forgive me, I’m a total newbie.

Chris, I’m using your Band Rollover image swap snippet for a project I’m working on. My version, however, doesn’t have a silhouette default image – I only have four images of people – one person on each image is in color. So I’m using the first person in color (guy#1) as the default image. But when I hover off of guy #2’s image map to (for example) guy #3’s image map, the effect flips back to my default guy#1 quickly. In theory, I know this must be because at the end of the animation, the default is guy#1.

Here’s the JQuery

jQuery.noConflict();
    $(function() {

var name = "";

$(".horseman").css("opacity", 0);

$(".horseman-image-map").hover(function() {
    name = $(this).attr("id");
    $("#image-"+name).stop(true, false).show().animate({ opacity: 1 });
    }, function() {
    name = $(this).attr("id");
    $("#image-"+name).stop(true, false).animate({ opacity: 0 }).hide();
    });

return false;
    });

Here’s the CSS

* { margin: 0; padding: 0; }
    #page-wrap { width: 500px; margin: 0 auto; }

#default-horseman {margin-left: -242px; float: left; width: 982px; background: url(guy1.png) no-repeat; padding: 281px 0px 0 1px; position: relative; }

.horseman-image-map { position: absolute; display: block; height: 269px; top: 0; z-index: 9999; border: none }
    #guy1 { position: absolute; top: 0px; left: 1px; width: 147px; height: 269px; border: none }
    #guy2 { position: absolute; top: 0px; left: 148px; width: 120px; height: 269px; border: none }
    #guy3 { position: absolute; top: 0px; left: 268px; width: 148px; height: 269px; border: none }
    #guy4 { position: absolute; top: 0px; left: 410px; width: 145px; height: 269px; border: none }