Forums

The forums ran from 2008-2020 and are now closed and viewable here as an archive.

Home Forums CSS Issues with #id selector

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    AmandaB
    Participant

Hi, I am a complete coding novice and trying to update a site using mostly stuff like PageBuilder etc. (which I know is frowned upon amongst the coders)

Anyway, I have a #content selector (in the theme files) which is overriding all my link colors and I’m stuck as to how to change it.

Please guide me through the steps I need to follow as to exactly which part of the style sheet I need to send as well as which links to the site etc in order to get the help I require…

Thanks

Paulie_D

Nothing we can do without the code.

tomnoble92
    Participant

Hi Amanda,

We can’t help without been able to see the code.

Add a link to the website if possible.

AmandaB
    Participant

Hi

Thanks for replying

The site is: http://www.dev.portland.co.za/

https://codepen.io/anon/pen/VxjGgO

Hope that helps. I have this link style issue on all my pages

AmandaB
    Participant
    tomnoble92
    Participant

You need to remove #content a from the stylesheet or from wherever on the page builder it’s using it.

It’s not a easy one. The red link for the button is been inserted into to actual html. So that makes me think its not from the theme but a page builder or a plugin is causing it…hard to say.

Mamun
    Participant

Hi @AmandaB,

Did you try to override that code in your css with this?

#content a, #content a:link, #content a:visited {
    color: your-color;
    }

#content a:hover {
    color: your-color;
    }

If you tried it and still it’s not working that means, you need to load your custom css files at the end. !important would help in any situation but it’s a bad practice. You are loading your theme/plugin css at the end that’s why it’s having more priorities at they are at the end.