Forums

The forums ran from 2008-2020 and are now closed and viewable here as an archive.

Home Forums Other Is Photoshop productive for web design?

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    Lil K
    Participant

Hey, I’m a beginner at web design, and I was wondering is creating a mockup for the website in Photoshop and converting the (.PSD) files into HTML/CSS really worth it?

Paulie_D

Use PS for design mockups to get client approval…sure.

Convert .PSD to HTML/CSS…never.

thebloodsoaked
    Participant

Wireframing complimented with a style tile/mood board is probably a lot less time consuming than a full fledged PSD.

Alen
    Participant

@lil-k

Photoshop is just a tool. There’s no rules as to which way you should be using it.

Is Photoshop productive for web design?

It depends. How are you using it? Are you happy with the workflow? What else have you tried? There’s so many habitual, personal things that get molded when using any tool. It’s very subjective. What works for me might not make any sense to how you do things.

Are you working alone? With developer? Have clients? All of these things might at any point in time make you switch between multitude of tools that you have at your disposal.

For me, I use Photoshop to get some creative ideas polished, but I always start with low fidelity pencil and paper sketch. It’s much faster to iterate on paper, throw ideas together then later produce higher fidelity comps for client or whomever.