Forums

The forums ran from 2008-2020 and are now closed and viewable here as an archive.

Home Forums Other Is it ok that I have not had a job for a year long?

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author
    akurtula
    Participant

Hi

Last year I graduated, since then I have been working on personal projects and the usual stuff to learn and keep up. I have applied for very few jobs but I did not even get and interview.

Then I decided to work up my skills on my own and stopped applying fo jobs. So it has been a year since I have not had a job – but that does not mean I lost interest in web design, as I do work on it everyday (you know like all of you, whether we get payed or not this is what we love).

Now I am going to do something about it. I am going to seriously start applying to jobs or look for charity work

I have a friend that has not been able to get a job (in the same field) for a year. But the difference is that he is been looking for work and I havent.

The bottom line is:

I have a portfolio and three examples of work.

I am confident in fron-end and trying to get better at OO PHP (im also good at wordpress and few other things).

I am going to start blogging with a sercret target to show that I know what I am talking about (I thought hard about the target audience, and I’m just not a blogger, so I am going to write about everything I know)

I am way more advanced than last year, But will the fact that (more or less) had a brake from the job market for a year damage my changes to finding work?

theacefes

I don’t think it will necessarily kill your chances at finding a job but most employers will want to know why you didn’t work for a year.

akurtula
    Participant

Can it be called freelancing when you have no client? Technically (I think) I been doing everything BUT just without getting payed

akurtula
    Participant