Forums

The forums ran from 2008-2020 and are now closed and viewable here as an archive.

Home Forums CSS IE trauma

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    bha100710
    Participant

Dear Forum Members –

I am not a programmer by background and I have learnt litlle bit by tweaking and experimenting here and there..

I am building a website {www.rockville.co.in} using a wordpress theme – the site is showing nicely in all browsers except IE (I have a problem with IE 6 don t know if the same problem exists with other versions) . I read about the step down problem in one of the posts but dont know how to fix it.

Please help me out – I have lost my patience badly with this. I tried contacting the owner of the theme but did not get any response. The theme also has a a blank ie.css file which can be modified but I have no clue how to go about it.

Here’s the global CSS file :

http://rockville.co.in/wp-content/themes/epione/style.css

Please take me out of this …

Thanks

TheDoc

The “stepdown” problem is a common bug for IE6. Here’s the general fix for it:

navid_or_class li {
    display: inline;
    }

Add that to your ie.css file.

Then find this somewhere in your theme (maybe header.php):

And change the “if IE” to “if IE 6”.

seeingsound

Add a CSS reset. Then make the fixes in your CSS to make it look normal again, and then it should look about same in every brauser :)

zackw

what you should really do is display a message if people view your site using ie6 telling them to upgrade and a link to do it – IE6 is decreasing in usage everyday – i wouldnt even worry about fixing the problem, it only encourages people to continue using it – at my work we no longer do that

TheDoc

/sigh