Forums

The forums ran from 2008-2020 and are now closed and viewable here as an archive.

Home Forums Other I want to change my forum handle. What should it be?

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author
    nixnerd
    Participant

I need some anonymity. I don’t need clients Googling me and finding every post I’ve ever written on a forum. However… Joe_Temp is old and played. It’s a tired handle and it needs to be put out to pasture. I’ve been using it for oh say… 12 years.

Please help me think of an awesome handle that incorporates my first name.

I saw a handle on Reddit today that made me very jealous:

Jethro_Tell

chrisburton
    Participant

Really? I like the use of real names. Even spent over a year trying to obtain my name on Twitter (successfully). What are you afraid of clients finding?

nixnerd
    Participant

Well, first of all, the main reason is that I’m tired of my handle. This will be for forums only. I own my full name as a domain and my full name is my twitter and Instagram handle. Only crappy part is i had to use my middle initial. I agree… for the purposes of doing business and building a brand.

See, before I was a dev, I was in sales for years and years. I’ve sold everything. You name it. My primary skill is closing. Now, one thing I’ve learned over the years is to not devalue ANYTHING that you do. Ever. If clients are able to see every seemingly stupid question I’ve ever asked, then suddenly, they don’t value my skill anymore and my rate goes down. Or worse, they think their 12 year old can do what I do.

I treat this as just another service that I sell. The primary goal is to get dollars. Therefore, I want the freedom to ask stupid questions and learn. Not to be judged by clients who think they know it all.

Plus, I want to get snarky on Reddit like everybody else without clients getting all sensitive.

__
    Participant