Forums

The forums ran from 2008-2020 and are now closed and viewable here as an archive.

Home Forums Other HTML editor as a job?

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author
    Alaska
    Participant

I just got a call from someone who has seen my portfolio and wants to interview me for a position as an HTML editor. I’ll admit that I am better at designing than I am coding, so has i would like to know if anyone here has had this type of job, and what it usually entails, and how much experience I would need not to make a fool out of myself.

I do know a good bit of HTML and CSS, I took quite a few courses in college, and on my own. I’m not oblivious to it, I’m just not as confident in that area.

And I will obviously ask him more about it at the interview, I just want to know your guy’s experience with it.

TheDoc

I’ve been a professional (meaning that it pays my bills) web developer for the past five or so years now. You’ll find that the majority of people on this forum do this for a living.

Based on the code that you posted for your portfolio, I’d say you’re really far behind in terms of today’s coding standards. I’d recommend going through something like this: http://learnlayout.com/ and taking some courses on [Treehouse](http://teamtreehouse.com/redirect/css-tricks “Treehouse”).

Anonymous
    Inactive

what exactly is an “HTML Editor”?. Telling from the job title i think its someone who modifies/edits someone else’s HTML code. I once had a task like that but it was unbelievably frustrating because i had to update a website with unorganized and uncommented code, and a bunch of separate files that didn’t need to be separate. I ended up quitting after 3 days, and was able to change only a few things. The thing is that if you feel like you don’t know enough than either don’t take the job, or let the employer know you are not a professional.

theacefes