Forums

The forums ran from 2008-2020 and are now closed and viewable here as an archive.

Home Forums Back End How to – Simple Database?

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    rosco
    Participant

Hi folks,

I work in a university and I’m wanting to create a very simple database that can be used to display course details online.

We obviously already have course pages with extensive information for prospective students, but I wanted to create a mini-site for internal use only, showing a list of courses, their prices, entry requirements, etc… The idea being that this could be used by staff at open days as a reference.

As I’m completely new to creating database, I wondered if there’s any software that would make this process a littler easier for me. Or if anyone knows of any good tutorials that would guide me through this process?

Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks,

Ross

__
    Participant

Creating a second database is the wrong way to go about it – it will be a maintenance and reliability nightmare.

A better approach would be to design a program that could interface with the existing database, so you can draw on the same information.

In general, however, I think we’d need more information about what you’re doing.

rosco
    Participant

Hi that’s fine, as I say I’m completely new to database design so looking for any advice.
    So we have 30-40 courses online with extensive information such as course summary, entry requirements, fees, modules, student case studies, how to apply etc…

However, what I want is to strip this content down to the bare minimum and use it to populate a table which has course name, entry requirements and fees only. This way your can see all courses on one page at one time which allows staff to see the basic information at a glance without the need to click through each individual course.

Is there a logical way to do this?

Thanks,

Ross

chrisburton
    Participant